Home> Latest

Numerous relic sites in Zhejiang incorporated into national program

ezhejiang.gov.cn| Updated: November 25, 2021 L M S

The National Cultural Heritage Administration recently published a proposal to protect and utilize China's major relic sites during the 14th Five-Year Plan (2021-25) period.

East China's Zhejiang province is home to eight of the major relic sites mentioned in the proposal. They are Shangshan Relic Site (Jinhua), Hemudu Relic Site (Yuyao), Liangzhu Relic Site (Hangzhou), Anji Ancient City Relic Site (Anji), Shanglin Lake Yue Kiln Relic Site (Cixi), Dayao Longqquan Kiln Relic Site (Lishui), Lin'an City Relic Site (Hangzhou), and Six Mausoleums of Song Dynasty (Shaoxing).

Another major relic site in the proposal, the coast defense line of the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368-1912), passes through numerous provinces including Zhejiang. The most important fortress along the Zhejiang section of the coast defense line is Puzhuangsuo City in Cangnan county. The fortress was built during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and was where Chinese troops put up heroic fights against invading Japanese pirates.

According to the proposal, steady progress will be made in archaeological studies, preservation, management, exhibition, and promotion of these relic sites by 2025.


The Shanglin Lake Yue Kiln Museum at Cixi's Shanglin Lake was a celadon-production hub that operated for a millennia. [Photo provided to China Daily]