The CPPCC has its National Committee and local committees.

The CPPCC National Committee is elected for a term of five years. The CPPCC National Committee has a chairperson, a number of vice-chairpersons, and a secretary-general.

The National Committee has a Standing Committee composed of a chairperson, vice-chairpersons, a secretary-general, and members of the Standing Committee to attend to its day-to-day work when it is not in session. The chairperson presides over the work of the Standing Committee, and is assisted by the vice chairpersons and secretary-general.The chairperson, vice-chairpersons and secretary-general make up the Chairperson’s Council and attend to the important day-to-day affairs of the Standing Committee.

The National Committee has a General Office, which operates under the leadership of the secretary-general.Special committees are working bodies under the leadership of the Standing Committee and the Chairperson’s Council.

The structure of the National Committee is as follows:



The National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference, abbreviated as the CPPCC National Committee, is composed of representatives from the CPC and other political parties, and from people’s organizations, ethnic minority groups, prominent individuals without party affiliation, compatriots from the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Macao Special Administrative Region and Taiwan, returned overseas Chinese, representatives of all sectors of society, and specially invited individuals. The term of each National Committee is five years, and the members are organized into a number of groups.

There are 34 participating groups as follows:

Members of the Standing Committee of the 14th CPPCC National Committee
Members of the 14th CPPCC National Committee

Copyright © The National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.
All rights reserved. Presented by China Daily.