Guangzhou, traditionally Romanized as Canton, is the capital and largest city of Guangdong province in Southeastern China, lying close to the South China Sea, Hong Kong and Macau.

Guangzhou was a major hub of the maritime Silk Road and continues to serve as an important port and transportation center in the Pearl River Delta city cluster, honored as “China's Southern Gateway”.

Covering an area of 7,434 square kilometers, Guangzhou is home to more than 13.5 million people. It has direct jurisdiction over 11 districts, namely Yuexiu, Liwan, Haizhu, Tianhe, Baiyun, Huangpu, Huadu, Panyu, Nansha, Conghua and Zengcheng.

As China’s third largest city, behind Beijing and Shanghai, Gunagzhou holds sub-provincial administrative status and is one of the country’s six National Central Cities, being a center of politics, economy, and science in Guangdong province. > View All