Rolex 24 At Daytona®

Updated: 2016-04-07


2016 Rolex 24 At Daytona® (US)

The Triple Crown of endurance racing, supported by Rolex, comprises the 12 Hours of Sebring, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Rolex 24 At Daytona®, which is regarded by many as the toughest race. Conducted entirely over a compact 5.73 km (3.56-mile) closed circuit, the Daytona race challenges drivers with a unique combination of the high-banked tri-oval superspeedway, interrupted by a chicane on the back straight and a sweeping, fast infield section, including two hairpins. This demanding course is made even more challenging given the drivers complete almost 700 laps of it, half of which are tackled in darkness.


2016 Rolex 24 At Daytona® (US)

As a pioneer of sports sponsorship, the luxury Swiss watch brand has supported track racing at Daytona since the course opened in 1959, but the connection with the area dates back further still. The long, flat and very firm Daytona Beach played host to 14 land speed records in the early part of the 20th century – five of which were World Land Speed Records set by Rolex wearer Sir Malcolm Campbell, including the fastest official record of 276 mph in 1935 at the wheel of his mighty Bluebird. In 1992, Rolex became Title Sponsor of the 24 Hours of Daytona classic formalizing a long-standing association with the speedway and strengthening the link between the 24-hour race and the Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona watch. The brand is now so closely tied to the event that aficionados simply refer to it as ‘The Rolex’.


2016 Rolex 24 At Daytona® (US)

The 2016 race marks Rolex's 24th year as the Official Timekeeper of the Rolex 24 At Daytona®. The 54th edition of the race takes place from Saturday 30 to Sunday 31 January 2016, inaugurating the new Daytona International Speedway with the start of the 2016 IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship. The circuit has undergone a two-year transformation as part of the DAYTONA Rising redevelopment project.

  • 2015 Lewis Hamilton (MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS)
  • 2014 Lewis Hamilton (MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS )
  • 2013 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2012 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2011 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2010 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)