Rolex and 24 Hours of Le Mans

Updated: 2016-04-07

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is the world’s oldest and greatest endurance race, representing the core values at the heart of the sport that are shared by Rolex: passion, prestige and precision. Through its partnership as Official Timepiece for the 24 Hours of Le Mans since 2001 and more recently its partnership with the FIA World Endurance Championship, Rolex continues to foster excellence in motor sports over the long term.


2015 24 Hours of Le Mans(France)

Since its inception in 1923, the 24 Hours of Le Mans has called on drivers to continuously perfect their skills in their preparation for and execution of the race. The team which covers the most distance at Circuit de la Sarthe wins, which means each car's speed and reliability is tested to the extreme, while the drivers and teams are pushed to the limit.

A car can lead the race with hours or minutes to spare, but the slightest tactical misjudgment or even the most benign mechanical issue can cost crucial time and see hopes of victory evaporate. Efficiency in the pit lane is vital, both in the number of stops and how long they take. On the course, it takes nerve and race-craft to know when to push. Teams need to manage resources and function like clockwork. Over the years, Le Mans has witnessed many great battles: split second finishes, dramatic mechanical failures and race-changing weather. Preparation for all eventualities is fundamental, experience to make the correct split second decision invaluable.


2015 24 Hours of Le Mans (France)

Nine-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen asserts that no driver can ever conquer the 24 Hours of Le Mans. To succeed personally, a driver needs to give everything during every minute of the race. "Le Mans", he says, is "the jewel in the crown of any racing season; it's where racers and cars are tested to the extreme. The challenge is unique and you have to perform at your best if you want to win."

  • 2015 Lewis Hamilton (MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS)
  • 2014 Lewis Hamilton (MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS )
  • 2013 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2012 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2011 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)
  • 2010 Sebastian Vettel (SCUDERIA FERRARI)