Home> Services  >   Visit China  >   Tour Planning

Regulations to be complied with in selecting tourist destinations in China

Updated: Dec 7, 2017 Print

According to Rules for the Administration of Travel of Foreigners in China (formulated by the Ministry of Public Security, the Headquarters of the General Staff, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and National Tourism Administration, and approved by the State Council and the Central Military Commission of the PRC on October 9, 1982), the regions in which foreigners can travel are divided into four categories: A, B, C and D. There are only 29 regions of Class A, including Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Qinhuangdao, Taiyuan, Shenyang, Changchun, Harbin, Nanjing, Suzhou, Wuxi, Hangzhou, Jinan, Qingdao, Zhengzhou, Kaifeng, Luoyang, Wuhan, Changsha, Guangzhou, Foshan, Zhaoqing, Nanning, Guilin, Xi'an, Chengdu, Chongqing, Kunming and Lunan County (Stone Forest), to which foreigners have direct access without a travel permit or prior notice. Regions of Class B are generally accessible to foreigners under the condition of applying to the public security organs for a travel permit. Regions of Class C and Class D are generally inaccessible to foreigners except under special circumstances after applying for a travel permit.

Copyright©2017 China Daily. All rights reserved.